IMG_0867 crop
200 Greetings/Proclamations to Recognize the Town of Amherst’s Bicentennial 
When the commission began planning the bicentennial kickoff celebration we thought it might be fun to try and gather 200 proclamations to celebrate our 200th birthday….and we were right…it was!!  So who is curious about where exactly those 200+ proclamations came from?
SENECA NATION – President Todd Gates 
United States Senator Charles E. Schumer
United States Senator Kirsten Gillibrand
Congressman Brian Higgins
Congressman Chris Collins
New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo
New York State Comptroller Thomas P. DiNapoli 
New York State Attorney General Eric Schneiderman 
NYS Senate Democratic Conference Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins
New York State Senator Chris Jacobs
New York State Senator Tim Kennedy
New York State Senator Michael H. Ranzenhofer
New York State Assemblywoman Crystal Peoples-Stokes
New York State Assemblyman Michael J. Norris 
New York State Assemblywoman Monica Piga Wallace
New York State Assemblyman Ray Walter
New York State Assemblyman Robin Schimminger
Erie County Legislature
Erie County Executive Mark Poloncarz
Erie County Clerk Mickey Kearns
Erie County Comptroller Stefan Mychajliw
Erie County Legislator Tom Loughran
Erie County Legislator Ed Rath
Cattaraugus County Legislature
Chautauqua County Legislature
Chautauqua County Executive George Borrello
Chautauqua County Legislator Richard Andres
Chautauqua County Legislator Bob Scudder
Chautauqua County Legislature Chairman Wendel
Chautauqua County Legislator Ron Lemon
Chautauqua County Legislator Mark J. Odell
Niagara County Legislature
Amherst Town Board (New York)
Amherst Supervisor Brian Kulpa
Amherst Councilwoman Jacqui Berger
Amherst Councilman Deborah Bruch Bucki
Amherst Councilman Shawn Lavin
Amherst Councilman Fran Spoth
Amherst Town Clerk Marjory Jaeger
Amherst Highway Superintendent Pat Lucey
Amherst Town Justice Kara Buscaglia
Amherst Town Justice Geoffrey Klein
Amherst College President Martin (Massachusetts)
Amherst, City of (Ohio)
Amherst, Village of (Wisconsin)
Amherst, Town of (Massachusetts)
Amherst, Town of (Nova Scotia, Canada)
Amherst Central School District Superintendent Anthony Panella
Sweet Home School District Superintendent Anthony Day
Sweet Home School Board Trustees
Williamsville School District Superintendent Scott Martzloff 
Williamsville School District Clerk Mitzie Serafin
Williamsville School Board Member Mark Mecca
Williamsville School Board Member Suzanne Van Sice
Williamsville School Board Vice President Teresa Anne Leatherbarrow
Williamsville School Board President Shawn P. Lemay
Greetings from Former Amherst Town officials
Amherst Supervisor Susan Grelick
Amherst Supervisor Dan Ward
Amherst Town Board member Peggy Santillo
Amherst Councilmember Steve Sanders
Amherst Councilmember Jerry Brownrout
Amherst Councilwoman Penny Zeplowitz
Amherst Councilman Mark Manna
Amherst Councilmember Jane Woodward
Amherst Councilwoman Ramona Popowich
Amherst Councilman Guy Marlette
Amherst Councilwoman Shelly Schratz
Amherst Highway Superintendent Tom Wik (now Sheridan Councilman)
Former NYS Senator, NYS Assemblyman and Village of Williamsville Mayor John Sheffer
Amherst Supervisor Satish Mohan
Amherst Highway Superintendent Patrick Lucey
Town of Amherst Attorney James M. Nesper
City of Batavia
City of Buffalo Mayor Byron Brown
City of Buffalo Councilman Richard Fontana
City of Buffalo Councilman Joseph Golombek
City of Jamestown Mayor Samuel Teresi
City of Jamestown City Councilman Thomas Nelson 
City of Niagara Falls
City of Niagara Falls Mayor Paul Dyster
City of Olean
City of Tonawanda Council President Jenna Koch
City of North Tonawanda
City of North Tonawanda Mayor Arthur Pappas
Akron, Village of
Alden, Village of
Arcade, Village of
Attica, Town of
Attica, Village of
Aurora, Town of
Barker, Village of
Bergen, Town of
Brant, Town of
Brocton  Village Clerk Jagoda
Byron, Town of
Caledonia, Town of
Cassadaga, Village of
Chautauqua, Town of
Cheektowaga Town Clerk Vickie L. Dankowski
Cheektowaga Town Supervisor Diane Benczkowski
Clarence, Town of
Colden, Town of
Collins, Town of
Concord, Town of
Depew, Village of
East Otto, Town of
Eden, Town of
Elba, Village of
Ellery, Town of
Ellington, Town of
Elma, Town of
Ellicottville, Town of
Evans, Town of
Grand Island, Town of
Gowanda, Village of
Hamburg, Town of
Hamburg, Village of
Hartland, Town of
Holland, Town of
Java, Town of
Lewiston, Village of
Lancaster, Village of
Lancaster, Town of
Lima, Town of
Lima, Village of
Livonia, Village of
Mansfield, Town of
Marilla, a Town of
Mayville, Village of
Murray, Town of
Newfane, Town of
Newstead, Town of
Niagara, Town of
North Harmony, Town of
North Harmony Supervisor Nancy Carlson
Nunda, Town of
Orchard Park, Town of
Orchard Park, Village of
Pembroke, Town of
Pendleton, Town of
Poland, Town of
Town of Poland Councilman Terry Walker
Pomfret, Town of
Portland, Town of
Portville, Village of
Ridgeway, Town of
Ripley, Town of
Royalton, Town of
Sheridan, Town of
Silver Creek, Village of
Somerset, Town of
South Dayton, Village of
Tonawanda, Town of
Westfield, Town of
West Seneca, Town of
Williamsville, Village of
Wilson, Village of
Yates, Town of
Yorkshire, Town of
Amherst Bicentennial Commission Members 
Dave Sherman – Co-Chair
Herbert Schmidt – Co-Chair
Juliana Woite
David Kohler
Marilyn Ciancio
Joan Fishburn
Keaton DePriest
Mary Diana Pouli
Mary Kate O’Connell
Dolores Sapienza (Old Home Days Parade Bicentennial Chair)
Susan Grelick – Secretary
Judge Penny Wolfgang
Joseph Grande, PHD – author of Amherst’s history
ORGANIZATIONS (Including Interclub Service Club Representatives)
Village of Williamsville Historical Society and Museum
Amherst Chamber – President Colleen DiPirro
Buffalo Federation of Women’s Club
UB Women’s Club
Getzville Ladies Auxiliary
Jolly Boys
Main Transit Ladies Auxiliary
Amherst Dance Club
Quota Club of Amherst
Zonta Club of Amherst
Forum Club
George F. Lamm Post
Forest Stream Garden Club
Amherst Republican Women
Amherst Democratic Chairman Jerry Schad
Millard Fillmore Suburban Women’s Group
Amherst Victorian Dancers
Friends of Amherst Symphony
Amherst Garden Club
Women Interested in Cystic Health
Williamsville Rotary Club
Amherst South Rotary Club
Buffalo Niagara Heritage Trustees 
Jan Reilly, President
Michael Tyrpak, Vice President 
Connie Kotas, Treasurer 
Dawn Hutsebaut, Secretary 
Susan Koch
Scott Russell
John Simon
Peter Stakiewicz
Carrie Stiver
Jane Stoddard
Hex Kleinmartin, PHD

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s